The Department of Electrical Engineering was founded in 1975 and was the second Department to be founded in the Engineering Faculty of Xanthi, when the first 40 students were admitted. It began to employ its first own Professors almost two years after operating with scientific staff mainly from Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. As a result in 1977 were elected the first regular and temporary Professors (three-year service) to reach a total 51 members of Teaching and Research Staff (TRS) nowadays.

There are also 2 members of Scientific Teaching Staff (STS), 2 members of Laboratory Teaching Staff (L.T.S.) and 13 members of Special Technical Laboratory Staff (S.T.L.S.). Specifically, the faculty members (TRS) are distributed at various tiers as follows: 16 Professors, 15 Associated Professors, 16 Assistant Professors and 4 Lecturers.

The Department